

## The Hon Barry O'Farrell MP Premier of NSW Minister for Western Sydney

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Tuesday 25 February 2014

## JAI ROWELL ELECTED TO KEY PARLIAMENTARY POSITION

NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell today announced Wollondilly MP Jai Rowell had been elected to the key position of Government Whip.

"Jai Rowell was today elected unopposed as Government Whip by the Parliamentary Liberal Party," Mr O'Farrell said.

"Jai has been doing an outstanding job as Deputy Whip, ensuring the business of Parliament is carried out in an effective and orderly fashion.

"Jai's promotion to Government Whip is an acknowledgement of his strong organisational skills and the respect his Parliamentary colleagues have for him."

Charlestown MP Andrew Cornwell was elected unopposed as the Deputy Government Whip at today's regular meeting of the Parliamentary Liberal Party.

The selection of the new Whips followed the appointment of former Government Whip Daryl Maguire to the role of Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier for Rural and Regional Affairs.