

The Hon Barry O'Farrell MP Premier of NSW Minister for Western Sydney

MEDIA RELEASE

Tuesday 25 February 2014

ANDREW CORNWELL ELECTED TO KEY PARLIAMENTARY POSITION

NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell today announced Charlestown MP Andrew Cornwell had been elected to the key position of Deputy Government Whip.

"Andrew Cornwell was today elected unopposed as Deputy Government Whip by the Parliamentary Liberal Party," Mr O'Farrell said.

"Andrew Cornwell has been a hardworking and effective local MP who has also been impressive in his role as Chair of the Committee on Children and Young People and the Companion Animals Taskforce.

"This promotion will allow Andrew to make an even greater contribution to the Parliament."

Wollondilly MP Jai Rowell was elected unopposed as the Government Whip at today's regular meeting of the Parliamentary Liberal Party.

The selection of the new Whips followed the appointment former Government Whip Daryl Maguire to the role of Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier for Rural and Regional Affairs.