

The Hon Barry O'Farrell MP Premier of NSW Minister for Western Sydney

MEDIA RELEASE

Friday 17 June 2011

COMMITTEE CHAIRS

NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell today announced the NSW Government's nominations of MPs to chair Joint Parliamentary and Legislative Assembly committees.

"These nominations represent a mix of returning and new members, who will bring a range of energy, experiences and focus to the position of committee chair.

"Each committee plays an important role in public administration in NSW and I expect this will continue with these talented MPs as chairs," Mr O'Farrell said.

Joint Committees:

Committee Children and Young People – Andrew Cornwell MP
Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters – Trevor Khan MLC
Committee on the Health Care Complaints Commission – Leslie Williams MP
Committee on the Independent Commission Against Corruption – Mark Speakman SC
MP

Committee on the Office of the Ombudsman and the Police Integrity Commission - Catherine Cusack MLC

Legislation Review Committee – Stephen Bromhead MP Joint Standing Committee on Road Safety (Staysafe) – Greg Aplin MP Joint Standing Committee on the Office of the Valuer-General – Matt Kean MP

Legislative Assembly Committees:

Public Accounts – Jonathan O'Dea MP
Economic Development – David Elliott MP
Community Services – Kevin Anderson MP
Transport and Infrastructure – Charles Casuscelli MP
Law and Safety – John Barilaro MP
Environment and Regulation – Chris Patterson MP
Legal Affairs – Dominic Perrottet MP
Social Policy – Bruce Notley-Smith MP
State and Regional Development – Geoff Provest MP
Parliamentary Privileges and Ethics – John Sidoti MP

Salaries and allowances payable to committee chairs have been adjusted, and savings identified, so that the increased number of committees cause no extra cost to taxpayers.

The positions of chair will be confirmed when the committees meet for the first time.